Backup in 0.3.9 on Windows Vista uses invalid filename

Forum for discussing DBrowser, the interactive front-end for Rel.
Post Reply
HughDarwen
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 4:49 pm

Backup in 0.3.9 on Windows Vista uses invalid filename

Post by HughDarwen »

With the location box showing local:d:\Rel-version-3\BirdTrack.0.3.9, I clicked on Backup. Backup invited me to save the backup using the following filename:

relbackup_d:_Rel-version-3_BirdTrack_0_3_9_2008_July_29_01_44_PM.d

I decided to take that and I eventually got the message saying the backup had been successful. However, no file of that name appeared in the directory I was saving into. Instead, I got a file named relbackup_d (looking suspiciously like the characters up to and excluding the colon). However, that file had nothing in it.

[Actually, I first discovered the problem on version 0.3.8, where I took the backup with the intention of restoring it in version 0.3.9; but it's okay, Dave, I had taken other precautions against losing my entire database!]

Hugh
Dave
Site Admin
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 7:19 pm

Re: Backup in 0.3.9 on Windows Vista uses invalid filename

Post by Dave »

Argh. As much as I don't want to endure another Windows machine, I think I'm going to have to set up a Vista box so I can catch these problems before a release.

The file name it should have generated is: relbackup_d__Rel-version-3_BirdTrack_0_3_9_2008_July_29_01_44_PM.d

Note the colon is changed to an underscore.

Even still, if it couldn't write anything to the file (which it sounds like it couldn't), it should have complained loudly. I wonder if it actually wrote the backup to a temporary file somewhere.

Sorry! :cry:
Dave
Site Admin
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 7:19 pm

Re: Backup in 0.3.9 on Windows Vista uses invalid filename

Post by Dave »

I have fixed this in version 0.3.10. I've also added more error-detection mechanisms to the backup process, so hopefully it won't appear to generate a backup without generating a backup -- at least, not without throwing an error message.
Adrian_Hudnott
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:03 pm

Re: Backup in 0.3.9 on Windows Vista uses invalid filename

Post by Adrian_Hudnott »

Sounds like putting a colon in the filename caused an NTFS Alternate Data Stream to be written to, which is pretty sweet because most applications don't understand them.

Some information: http://www.heysoft.de/nt/ntfs-ads.htm
Post Reply